Goodreads: The Good And The Bad

I’ve been a stubborn user of LibraryThing for a number of years and have been resisting the move to Goodreads. I liked the cataloging options at LibraryThing. But I realized that the people, including other YA librarians, were on Goodreads. To make a long story short, I finally broke down and made the switch, though I haven’t completely abandoned LibraryThing. After a little over a month on Goodreads, I though I’d reflect on the change.

The Good:
Everyone is on Goodreads. I am now connected to lots of other Teen Librarians. Through them I see more titles than I would find on my own. I also get a good idea of the quality or appeal of those titles. It’s a great Readers Advisory and Collection Development resource. Because more people are there, Goodreads is a good place for discussion groups, like the group of members participating in the 2014 Hub Reading Challenge.

The Bad:
I don’t like the way Goodreads handles cataloging my reading. Every year there are several titles that I read in both print and audio formats. For me, those are two different books, two different reading experiences. But on Goodreads there is no way for me to separate them. I can’t review the audio book separately from the print book. I can note that I have read a title more than once. But I can’t separate them for my records. I can put a book on my Audio Book shelf. But then it doesn’t show that I read a print version, too. OK, I’m a librarian. I want things cataloged accurately and completely. But I also want to be able to go back and look at what I read 2 years ago and see what formats I read and what my reactions to each one were. I know it’s possible, because Librarything lets me do it. It will warn me I already have another addition in my library, but lets me add another one.

That doesn’t mean that I’m going to give up Goodreads any time soon. It lets me see what other people are reading, and what how they react to what they are reading. But I will probably keep my Librarything account going as well in order to track my reading for myself.

 

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Libraries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodreads: The Good And The Bad

  1. Pingback: Goodreads: The Good And The Bad | Literacy in t...

Leave a Reply

