New Beginnings

Glass ceiling by Chihuly at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Glass ceiling by Chihuly at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

New beginnings can be both exciting and scary. In the last few weeks, I’ve embarked on a major new beginning – a new job in a new city. Summer always seems to fly by. But with all of that excitement, this year it feels like I have missed summer entirely, in spite of spending nearly 2 weeks in July on a family vacation!

My new job is as Teen Librarian for the Central Library of the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Virginia. Of necessity, that means my focus will shift from Children’s to Young Adult services. That doesn’t mean that I will drop my interest in Early Literacy and STEM programming for children. But it does mean that I will spend more time and effort on literacy issues and STEM programs for Tweens and Teens. That will be especially true in the short term while I settle in to my new job.

Some projects I hope to be able to pursue in the near future:

  • A digital scavenger hunt in the library, perhaps sneaking in some information literacy info.
  • Passive, creative programs. Hmmm, can I find the tangram sets I made on card stock. If not, they’re easy enough to recreate.
  • Use the maker space idea as a springboard for Creator Space programs.
  • Coming up with some creative and fun STEM programs for teens.
  • Figuring out what organizations might make good partners for me for programming.
  • What can I do with apps and tech toys?

So many ideas, so much to do, so little time. But it’s going to be a lot of fun along the way!

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Libraries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

