Adventures in the Twitterverse

My Twitter FeedI finally took the plunge. I am now on Twitter. It turns out that the reasons I was avoiding Twitter for so long were completely valid. It is a terrible time sink for me! There is a constant stream of communication. I can’t keep up – aack!

Okay, to really understand that, you need to know something about my personality. I was that annoying person in college who never cut class. The idea horrified me. I might miss something! Of course, that was partially fear that the something I missed would appear on an exam. But even more, I can’t resist the lure of information. (My husband used to joke that I homeschooled our children so I had an excuse to read and learn.)

I’ll admit that many of the tweets that come through my feed don’t interest me at all. But buried in that constant stream are always a few gems. How else would I have discovered that Neil Gaiman is creating a video game that sounds deliciously creepy? I think I will have to have it. And who knew Maureen Johnson was so funny? I am getting my puppy fix vicariously while remembering why a puppy would not be a good idea right now given the craziness in my life.

I realize that I need to get my act together and organize my feed. But how do I choose what to hide? If I hide some publishers or authors, I might miss a giveaway or important announcement. I could hide certain people who flood the Twitterverse with updates and stills from the movie adaptation of their book and who are constantly answering fan questions by tweeting to the world. But what if the teens I work with would be interested in those things? Shouldn’t I keep up with them then?

I have barely begun on Twitter. I follow very few people yet. So I know the flood of information is only going to grow. In the end, I will make the hard choices and organize my feed so I can cope. After all, I am a librarian. Organizing information is what I do. But I suspect I will always have that nagging worry that I am missing something – never mind that if I hadn’t joined Twitter I would still be missing that and more.

If you’re on Twitter and don’t follow Maureen Johnson (@maureenjohnson), you need to fix that! Her commentary on the royal birth was laugh-out-loud hilarious. I am @booksnquilts. If you follow me, I can pretty much guarantee that I won’t be flooding your Twitter stream. I tend to lurk mostly, though given my fondness for sharing information, that will probably change as I get more comfortable.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Social Networking, The Internet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

