Literacy – More Important Than Ever

Because Literacy In All Its Forms Is More Important Than Ever

Since I started this blog, I have often struggled to find a clear focus. As my professional experience grew and changed, my perspective and interests also changed. As I was re-evaluating my professional identity and career direction, I realized that issues about which I am passionate revolve around the idea of literacy. As our world becomes more technologically complex, literacy is becoming, if anything, more necessary on many levels.

What is literacy? Its root definition is the ability to read and write. For the purposes of this blog, I am defining literacy in its broadest sense. Basic literacy, reading and writing, provides a solid foundation on which to build other types of literacy. Clearly libraries have a role to play in Early Literacy, helping to ensure children are ready to learn to read when they start school. Information Literacy is another obvious area where libraries are important. But we can do so much more.

In previous posts, I’ve written about Information Literacy, Digital Literacy and Technological Literacy. I will continue to explore those topics. But I will also provide regular Early Literacy tips and activities. I will explore ways libraries can create programming to help build S.T.E.M. Literacy. As part of Digital Literacy, I will explore apps for both adults, teens and young children and discuss how to use technology is age-appropriate ways. My goal is to provide ideas for librarians as well as tools for everyone as they navigate life in our digital age.

 

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Literacy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

