New Year’s Reflections

Glass ceiling by Chihuly at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Glass ceiling by Chihuly at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

It’s that time again. Time to reflect on the past year and look ahead, setting goals for the new year. Upon review, my progress with last year’s resolutions was mixed. Rather than bemoan what didn’t happen, I’d prefer to focus on the positives. I have been writing more book reviews, though often they are for the CRRL Shelflife blog rather than for my own blog. I have also maintained my interest in tech tools, though I haven’t been organized about trying and writing about them. And while I have not yet mastered web design, I am registered for the ALA Web Design course that begins Jan. 7. Better a little late than never!

There are a number of things I’ve done this past year that weren’t on my list of resolutions but probably should have been:

  1. Read more, and more broadly
    Given how much I’ve always read, that doesn’t sound like a real goal. But this year I made a real effort to read to enhance my knowledge of what’s out there. I joined two reading challenges and have been actively reading outside my usual comfort zone. My Reader’s Advisory skills have definitely improved as a result!
  2. Become more involved professionally
    I’ve been intimidated by the idea of joining committees or volunteering to serve in professional organizations. I finally got over my fear and am glad I did. Acting as a liaison from the ALA New Member Round Table to other organizations is not at all difficult, and has helped me connect with people who are actively involved in the Virginia Library Association’s NMRT. I also joined the VLA Youth Services Forum’s Social Media Committee. Again, it’s not hard. I’m responsible for 2 Facebook posts each week.
  3. Attend a conference
    I started small, attending the VLA Annual Conference in October. I had a great time, learned a lot and while I didn’t network outside my own library as much as I probably should have, I did get to know some of my colleagues better. One of the conference sessions led directly to a project at work, which was pretty neat.

As I look forward to the new year, I think I’ll keep my goals simple. I’ll probably have a better chance of meeting them that way:

  1. Continue the accomplishments from last year
    Now that I’ve become involved, I need to stay active. I’ll certainly be going to at least one conference next year, probably VLA again.
  2. Schedule regular writing time
    The posts don’t need to be long. But I need to be sure to keep writing. Time off only makes it harder to get started again.
  3. Schedule time for quilting
    That may not be a professional goal, but I need to remember that balance between my personal and professional lives is important. I’ve let myself get distracted during my free time lately and I miss the creativity and sense of accomplishment of quilting.

About the picture: My husband and I were lucky enough to be able to attend the Chihuly Exhibition at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Chihuly is an amazing artist. What’s also amazing is that he encourages photography of his work (no flash or tripod) for educational and non-commercial uses. I loved the colors and found his creativity inspiring. This is a picture I took of the ceiling installation. Seeing it makes me happy and ready to move forward and create in my own life. Click on the picture to go the artist’s website and be astounded by his work!!!

 

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Libraries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

