Pinterest Follow Up

A while back I posted about one of the hottest new Internet tools, Pinterest. I quickly saw the potential for it to become a major time sink if I wasn’t careful. That concern is an important one for me in evaluating what new tech tools I choose to try. After all, if I spend all of my time online, there wouldn’t be time left for reading and quilting. I already feel like I don’t have enough time for the quilting. But back to Pinterest.

I started experimenting on a fairly small scale. I have not been using it to search for things that interest me. However I am using it on a small scale to promote my quilt and book review blogs. I only have two active pinboards, one for each subject. I have been pleasantly surprised by the results. Pinning the page of one of my book reviews always leads to some extra traffic on the blog. The results aren’t immediate and the numbers aren’t large. But I am also not posting my pinning activities on Facebook or actively connecting with anyone through Pinterest.

My verdict: Pinterest has the potential to be an interesting and useful tool if one can be disciplined and not get lost exploring other people’s pins. If I were a crafter or small business owner, I would certainly be pinning pictures of my products and encouraging re-pinning as a publicity tool. I think programming and events could be publicized this way as well, but the effectiveness would be dependent on the concentration of Pinterest users in the actual location of the event. All in all, I call my experiment with Pinterest a success and I will continue to use it. Now the question is what tech tool to try next. Should I get over my reluctance to join Twitter? Or maybe Tumblr? Or is there something else that I’m missing that is going to be the next big thing?

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Libraries, Tech toys and tools, The Internet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

