Petition to Mother Nature

Please, no more disasters!

Effects of Irene

What an eventful month! After a hectic summer in which it seemed every time I got caught up, something else happened to set me back again, I was really looking forward to my three week break from school. Instead, we were hit with one natural disaster after another – earthquake, hurricane and flooding. We were lucky that the only damage we experienced personally was the uprooting of our wonderful shade tree in the back yard. When it fell, it went in the one direction that assured it did no further damage. The torrential rains of the night of September 8 (nearly 21 inches of rain in 8 hours!) did, however, leave me stranded by the side of the road just a mile and a half from home. Our neighborhood was completely cut off and I spent the night in my car.

So now I am back at the beginning of another term of school wondering where my break went. I am taking my last course and should graduate in early December. Hooray! I did manage to start catching up on my reading in the last few weeks. I’m currently reading Eli Pariser’s The Filter Bubble: What the Internet is Hiding From You. It’s a fascinating look at how the Internet has gone from a place where we explored the diversity of the world and connected with people and places and ideas we would never have discovered otherwise to a place where the information fed to us is tailored to our past viewing habits, thereby reducing our exposure to diverse ideas and reinforcing our own personal biases. It’s eye-opening reading and I highly recommend it. If all goes well, I plan to review it for Writing ‘Bout Reading.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in The Internet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

