My New Tech Toy – iPad2

Waiting in line at Best Buy

Me with my "golden ticket" waiting for sales to begin

Yes, I admit it. I stood in line at Best Buy on Friday to get a new iPad on the launch day. Does that qualify me as an Apple geek? Or just crazy? Before you make that judgment, let me point out that the lines in suburban Richmond were nothing like those mega-mobs in the news. (Apparently the Apple Store itself was pretty bad, with more people than available iPads.) We were on our way to the Apple Store shortly after 4:30 p.m. for the 5 p.m. release. But traffic was a pain and there was the Best Buy. It was even on the right side of the road. We made what was, in the end, the correct call and turned into the parking lot. Lo and behold, at 4:45 p.m. they still had some of their “golden tickets” available. We had arrived in time, each managing to get a ticket for our first choice models.

The line after we turned the corner.

Waiting in line to check out.

Now came the real wait. Sales actually started on time. You wouldn’t think it should take very long to pick up an iPad and go check out. But Apple policy required every iPad2 to be sold at the Best Buy Geek Squad desk, which has just 4 registers. Plus, all 3G iPads had to be set up with a data plan. Those of us waiting to pick and pay for the simple WiFi version had to wait and wait and wait. (Note to Best Buy: Next time, designate one register for just WiFi checkout so those who don’t need the lengthy set up don’t have to wait for those who do!) Still, the end result was worth it! And the total time we spent in the store was just over two hours, really not that bad.

His and hers iPads

Our new toys - his and hers iPad2s

My husband was excited enough that he had to have a picture of our new toys. Mine is the one on the left. He interrupted me in the process of downloading apps, so it looks a bit bare. I assure you, that is no longer the case. I’m already addicted to this gadget. Much as I love my MacBook Pro, I have gotten tired of being tied to it when I need to read things in digital form. Sometimes I can print things out, but that’s wasteful. There’s no way I can print out copies of the digital advance copies of new books that I need to review. And it’s difficult to snuggle comfortably in bed or on the sofa with the MacBook on my lap. After testing it yesterday, I can confidently state that my new iPad rates high on the “comfort while reading” scale.

It’s a good thing that I’ve reached the end of my school term (just one open-book exam to go), because I suspect I’ll be spending a lot of time in the near future distracted by my new gadget!

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Tech toys and tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

