New Years Reflections

Happy New Year!

Image by Tony V. for Flickr via Wikipedia

I wasn’t going to do a traditional New Years Reflection post. But then I started thinking about the last year and realized how much has changed, how much I have changed.

A year ago, we still lived in Belgium, settled into a comfortable routine. I was working 15 to 20 hours a week at the Brussels library, running all of the children’s programs. But the summer brought a whirlwind move back to the States and a new home in Virginia.

, via Wikimedia Commons”]It’s hard to believe that 12 months ago, I had just finished my first course for my MLIS, Information Systems. I had not yet answered a question for the Internet Public Library (IPL2). My online presence was limited to Facebook. I’ve learned and tried so many new things that I’m amazed it has only been in the last year. I learned to build a wiki, and have worked on 4(!) different wiki platforms. I worked with a group to build a website using the templates and wysiwyg (what you see is what you get) interface at Yola.com. I learned to use Animoto and incorporated into my Middle School Summer Reading Program along with some information literacy instruction. Now, I maintain three blogs all linked from a single home page on The Quilting Librarian. I am regularly writing book reviews that I post on my blog Writing ‘Bout Reading and on Library Thing and the Facebook Booktracker app. And I’m now hooked on gadgets. I love my iPhone 4 and am eagerly awaiting the release of the new iPad. That is going to be my birthday present. Fingers crossed they’ve given it a USB port!

Story time by San Jose Library at Flickr

I’ve discovered that I am passionate about library services for kids and teens. They are thefuture for not just our libraries, but for our world. Librarians can really make a difference for youth. The Girl Scout in me is really attracted by the possibilities to “make the world a better place.” I’m concerned about digital rights and the erosion of the concept of ownership. As anyone who has read my recent posts can tell, privacy is a big concern for me. Finally, I’ve become a firm believer that information literacy is important for everyone, not just kids and students! Everyone’s life would be better if they could learn something as small as how to use Google more efficiently to find quality information.

So, where do I go from here? What does the next year hold? First, it starts with becoming a volunteer at a new library to continue to learn practical skills. I will continue to volunteer answering questions for the ipl2 and plan to take a class in digital reference. I’m going to try to teach myself HTML and how to build a proper website because I think that is becoming an essential tool for an information professional. I’m looking forward to learning about cataloging and collection management, to make it easier for library users to find the information they need and want. I’m really excited about my upcoming class in teaching information literacy. I expect that will carry over into this blog.

If you’ve stayed with me through this long post, thank you for your patience! May you have a wonderfully Happy New Year!

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, Digital rights, Libraries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

