Facebook and Internet Privacy

I admit it, I’m one of those middle-aged women invading the previously teen-dominated world of social networking. It’s not always a smooth process. In fact, my own daughter refuses to be my “friend” on Facebook. Frustrating as that can be for me, I completely understand her desire for privacy. In fact, it astounds me how many people are not concerned about their privacy online.

I am always amazed when I see people advertise on their Facebook status that they are going to be away from home. Do they really think it’s that hard for people to figure who they are and where they live? Surprise! It’s pretty simple if you know what you’re doing. Do your posts only go out to your friends? Well, yes. But anyone who is a friend of your friend can see your post on the mutual friend’s wall. Many people don’t fully understand all of the privacy options Facebook offers, or what the default settings actually are.

My musings on this subject were prompted by an excellent post by one of my favorite bloggers, Joyce Valenza. Her post, Parents’ Guide to Facebook, is aimed at parents of teens. But I think it’s a subject that anyone using Facebook should investigate. After all, teens aren’t the only ones who should be concerned about privacy and safety online. It’s an issue that affects us all.

About booksnquilts

As a Youth Services Librarian, I am passionate about literacy in its many forms. In our current, complex world, literacy in all its form is increasingly important for a successful life. I believe that libraries can play a major role in improving literacy in our communities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

